A long time ago

I cannot remember the last time we went to a gig or concert in Edinburgh. So I had to use blip to help me out, and I discovered that it might be the Benjamin Clementine gig at the Festival Theatre in August 2017. The later "outs" in August 2017 were all visits to the Book Festival and the Traverse, plus that month was a bit blighted by us both having bad colds and my having an awful cough...

Anyway, it was great to get to a concert at the Usher Hall - the Scottish National Jazz Orchestra doing some Duke Ellington and Count Basie. I enjoyed the first half, with Black, Brown and Beige, much more than the second half with Basie. It strikes me that the story of African American slavery, emancipation and marginalisation told by Black, Brown and Beige continues to be just as relevant today.

Not much else to report today, except that the kitchen continues to be busy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.