Bird's eye view

The Mono Monday theme word today is " Vantage". When I spotted this pigeon on top of my holly tree  I realised he had a great vantage point to survey the garden. He was there for ages with his head bobbing from side to side checking out what was going on.  Thanks to JohnEdward for hosting.

I was up early this morning as Lily had yet another appointment at the vets for her booster jab and check up. She was booked in for 9am. The bathroom is the best room to use to get her into the cat basket as I can shut the door and there's nowhere for her to hide  - and I had a few scenarios all worked out. 

Best option would be finding her fast asleep in the cat basket this morning so I could  just snap the lid shut and we would be off to the vets.  The basket was empty  so on to the second option.  I would linger in the bathroom and Lily would join me - she usually does if she's awake. She wants tummy tickles. Once she was in the bathroom I would shut the door and somehow get her into the basket.  But Lily never showed.  Third option - get her favourite toy and go upstairs with it into the bathroom and she would follow.  She usually does.  But not today. 

So I went downstairs and tried to look casual and started pottering about.  When Lily saw me she gave me a look which said " I know you are trying to trick me " ... and she shot off and hid.  How does she know its time for the vet?  I think she must be able to read the calendar or understand me when I'm on the phone making appointments. Anyway I couldn't find her - she's tiny and can get into small spaces and there's no chance of spotting her.  So I phoned the vets to cancel - again.  I didn't make another appointment as I have a busy week ahead and I have no idea when the best time for an appointment is.  I have many opportunities every day to get her into the basket - but never when her appointment is near.  I will put it out out of my mind for now and get back to the vet next week.   Of course when I had cancelled the appointment Lily appeared and ran into the bathroom to play. I get the feeling I have been outwitted.

So with getting up early I  had some spare time before going to Fitness Class.  I wrote 11 Christmas cards for my neighbours and delivered them. I also wrote a few more cards which needed posting.  Hung up a load of washing and did the washing up.  Watched a bit of TV - and then it was 1.30pm - time to go to Fitness.

The class was in the small Rectory Hall today but as there were only 13 of us the room was big enough.  Shopping in Tesco afterwards.

Later on was Slimming Club.  Not many stayed after weigh in.  So the meeting didn't last as long as usual.  My weight stayed the same this week.  I had hoped to lose one pound so I would be back inside my target range.

The weather was bitterly cold today - coldest day of the winter so far. 

Steps today - 16,081

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.