GREY STREET

Morrisons as usual this morning with my friend Jan for the big shop.  Had breakfast when I got home and then I headed for Newcastle.

I was carrying 3 parcels to post to America.  Each one weighed just under 2kg so I was heavy laden.  One of the parcels was the one I tried to post last week at my local post office and where I was in danger of being overcharged.  So I had to go to Newcastle where the post office staff have more experience.  I knew from checking online that each parcel should cost £20.10 - and that's what I was charged today.  (  Not the £50 plus I was quoted  last week.) There was a massive queue so I had a long wait.  But at least they are posted now - what a relief.

Then I went to The Granger Market.  When I told Jan I was going to Newcastle she asked me to go to the market to see if I could get her some pigs in blankets from one of the butchers in there. She's allergic to pork so she needs the pigs in blankets made with beef sausages.  ( If I was her I would have just made my own ). I asked at two butchers but they didn't stock them - and were unwilling to make up a batch.  But the third butcher was very helpful and made up a tray using his freshly made beef sausages wrapped in streaky bacon.  Jan will come here tomorrow to collect them.

I got an e mail this morning to say that a handbag I had ordered online from Clark's was ready to collect at their shop in Newcastle - so I went to pick that up. Then I went to the Lush shop to get a few things to give to Becky for Christmas.

So a very successful trip to Newcastle - and I got my blip shot too.  This is a view of Grey Street for the Wide Wednesday challenge- the theme today is "something old ".  Grey Street was built in the 1830s.  It was named after the Northumbrian-born Prime Minister Earl Grey - whose 130ft monument was built at the street’s Northern end. On the left of my shot you can see The Theatre Royal which was built in 1838. Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting.

I have added an Extra photo - Lily in the cat basket which she won't go near when its time to go to the vets.  Little minx.

Steps today - 12,220

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.