Blackfriars Hall, Norwich

Today at lunchtime a few colleagues and I had the good fortune to spend an hour in Blackfriars Hall, listening and singing carols with Norwich Cathedral choir. The choir were stunning. Boys aged 8 to 13 and a few men, all dressed in long pink robes, with big ruff like collars. A lovely was to get into the feel for Christmas.

The hall is Grade 1 listed, and makes up the most complete friary complex surviving in England. The centrepiece, St Andrews Hall, was completed in 1470 after the original buildings were destroyed in the fire in 1413, which destroyed so many of the old buildings in Norwich. I was interested to see it had also been a mint, which led me to google for more information. Wiki tells me it was also a workhouse. Now it is used to house events, such as antique fairs, weddings and Christmas Carol concerts!!

Work hasn’t been as manic today, but my headache has returned. Strange as the stress has lessened, so I can only assume it’s just hormones, that time etc. Annoying as I just want to go to bed, but really need to make cards, as I didn’t do them last night. I’ll try to do a few, and then an early night. I’ve a long day tomorrow. Mollie is coming home, but her train doesn’t get in until 6.15.

Looking forward to the weekend! Just one more day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.