More Christmas prep

As most of you already know, the house we live in now is too small for us all and since 2015 Daniel hasn’t had a bedroom. On his trips home from Uni in the summer and Christmas holidays, he has slept next door, in the caravan, on the sofa etc. I feel bad about this. It is my biggest regret following our move and I just wish we had a bigger house. Anyway, we don’t and are not likely to have so we have had to make the best of it. Dan has never once complained which is good of him. But this Christmas he will squeeze in with Henry. Henry had a new bed for Christmas (the one on the right) and tonight Henry has put the old one up in the remaining bit of space in his room. He seems quite excited about having his brother in with him. He said it will be like when they shared the room at Wandlebury together. Aah. They are 15 and 22. I think it is quite sweet. After 2 weeks I expect they will have had enough - but I could be wrong, as they don’t fight. I do think we will need to leave the window open for the duration though.....

Work was work. Lunch was a quick walk back to Magdalen Street to an antique shop I went in yesterday, where I worked my charm on the toothless shopkeeper, who had an eclectic mix of oddities- really up my street, and bought an xxxx (sorry can’t say what) for a bargain ‘his best price’ of £15, originally priced up at £24. All that antique road trip studying has been worth it as I’ve clearly honed my haggling skills. I didn’t even put any lipstick on!

Bus home was late and slow. Two turned up together just before I got there, then 15 minutes late, 2 more arrived together. I have a headache which I was expecting. Hope it’s gone by next week. Had a bath, Jon is wrapping and now I’m looking at recipes for Christmas. Haven’t got past puddings and confectionery yet....is there anything else worth looking at? With Henry helping me decide, we are as bad as each other both with a sweet tooth. He makes amazing Ferrero Roche. They genuinely are better than the real thing, because they are bigger!! He also wants to make profiteroles and I like to make a pavlova and the orange mince pies. See. Just puds!

Now I’m tired, but I’m going to sit up to see The Detectorists because I would just love to be one, & really love the programme.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.