Difficult Day...

Do not stand at my grave and weep,
I am not there, I do not sleep. 

(Mary Elizabeth Frye 1905-2004)


We all gathered in Devon at a tiny village hall for the funeral of my Uncle Roger.  It was a beautifully led short service of thanksgiving for his life.  We all sung 'How Great Though Art' with gusto, without music! 

My cousin S and cousin A's husband T gave the eulogy along with a Minister who knew Uncle Roger well.

We had tea and sandwiches and then...

The 'green' burial on a windswept hillside overlooking the Tyne Dart which was an exception to the rule.  I was so glad I had extra very warm layers and my suede furry boots, it was bitterly cold (but thankfully not wet)...

As we walked up to the site whilst waiting for the bearers, I got permission to take a few pictures for my Mum who couldn't attend....

After the burial we were all glad to drive to a warm pub, quite a drive away - to warm up and continue celebrating Uncle Roger's life...

(I was amazed to see not one peacock, but at least one and a dozen pea hens at the pub!!!  See extra)

A sad day, but a joyful day in knowing that Uncle Roger will suffer no more....

We all said how much we loved each other today and we will stay in touch...

To be continued.

Back Blip Friday 14th December.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.