Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Red-Belly

Many people see these medium sized N. American woodpeckers and wonder why they are called "red-bellied woodpeckers" when they don't appear to have a red belly at all.  In truth, some have much more color than others but even the most brightly hued birds only show their namesake belly under the right conditions.  All of this being a long-winded lead up to my photo of a male showing off his red belly today. He was swiveling around the metal rebar, debating a trip to a suet feeder nearby.  Not the best of perches, but it will do.

It's been pouring rain all day and is only in the 30's, so not a day where you want to spend any more time than absolutely necessary outdoors.  In fact, other than darting out to get this shot, I have been inside working on yesterday's photos most of the day.  MIL is here, sitting by the fire and watching "Golden Girls" on HULU for the umpteenth time - it still makes her laugh out loud which is a lovely sound.  

Hubs and I got our workouts done today so we are off to a good start for the week.  I spent too much time on the floor yesterday taking pet photos and my knee is complaining loudly so I'll be icing it later.  This is the knee I fell on earlier this year in Jamaica and I suspect that it is going to give me problems for a long, long time.  Advil is my friend.

Cheers, people.  Nine more days...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.