Blue Winter: Blue Skies, Blue Waters

I am a lover of winter's wonders, and one of those wonders is ice. I have been keeping an eye on Skytop Farm Pond, as I drive past it twice on most days that I work. On this day, there was a thin surface layer of ice.

So many of winter's days around here are gray and overcast: the sky a shade of platinum. But on this day, the sky was blue and the water was blue. Or rather, the ice was blue, because it reflected the sky (as the water does, in its own time, but now we are under the domain of the Frost King).

The sun was piercingly bright, and it was blinding to look at. I tried a few photos straight into the sun, but every one ended up shot through with sun glares.

So here is a sort of side view of the little pond. The ground I was standing on was crispy-crunchy beneath my feet: water and grass, frozen. I wonder when the local cows eat the frozen grass if it seems like ice cream might to us. Is it good, cold? Or is it too chilly on the back teeth?

These are the questions we ask ourselves in life: some silly, some profound. For myself, I am just happy to see the winter blues: blue skies, blue waters.

The soundtrack to my image? Just a few days ago, she was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. She is the first woman to be inducted twice, once as a member of a group (I think you can guess which one), and now as a solo artist. I have adored her forever in both roles. The song is Blue Water, by Stevie Nicks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.