Anglo-Saxon kingdoms: art, word, war

When I heard a few weeks ago that the Codex Amiatinus was back in England after an absence of 1,302 years to feature in an exhibition at the British Library, I was determined to see it. So Mr hazelh and I bought tickets for Anglo-Saxon kingdoms: art, word, war in London today. Here we spent a couple of hours before catching our train home again to Edinburgh from Kings Cross.

The Codex Amiatinus really is enormous. No wonder nobody previously volunteered to lug it all the way back here from Italy! The other exhibits were interesting too. We liked the illuminated texts best, and were amused that we could understand more of the Latin than we could the Old English.

I'm blipping this from the train north between York and Newcastle, somewhat annoyed that the BBC4 archaeology programmes that I thought that I had downloaded yesterday for this journey do not appear on my laptop - aargh! Thankfully I have other forms of entertainment in my rucksack.

Exercise today: none other than 8579 steps (I'm not sure whether I should give up this pathetic reporting!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.