Abandoned

It's about a year since I photographed a derelict pub a few miles away.  Driving along that road the other day, I noticed that it wasn't there any more - demolished and cleared away - probably destined for a development of executive detached houses!  I also noticed an abandoned building adjacent to the plot, so went along this morning to see what it was, not knowing whether I could gain access or not.

This mystery building turned out to be a former Care Home. Access to the outside was no problem (just wriggled round some concrete blocks) and then I could poke around the site.  Interesting and sad - it had clearly been stunning in its time with patio area, large garden and french windows from a lounge area so the residents could see the outside world.  Now it is neglected and just standing there.  It is securely boarded up so no way of getting inside - at least not today!  In one part of the garden there was a large wooden summer house, now filled with all the trappings and kit that go with old age and reduced mobility.  I found this quite emotional imagining the lives that had been here in the not so distant past - lots of stories in everything.  In the garden was a broken memorial tablet to Alan Curtis - 16th January 1919 to 2nd April 2006.  He was probably conceived soon after his father returned from WW1 and a joy for the family after the bleak war years; his own family perhaps left the memorial in this garden in gratitude for the care he had received.  I imagine him to love gardens and gardening by the inscription - In God's garden there is no pain.


I moved on and then found, just over the road, another abandoned Care Home.  Again, no problem with access to the exterior and how I would love to get inside this one! Based around a mock Georgian manor house (Chiltern Court?) there are purpose built, hotel-like blocks for residents.  Once beautiful gardens have now gone to ruin with benches and tables rotting where they stand.

From what I can glean on the internet, the Care home/s failed an inspection with 'unsatisfactory' standards.  I am guessing that they were closed down or the health care company could not afford to bring them up to a satisfactory standard.  I don't think it is that long ago since they were operating.  What happened to the residents?  Are some of them still alive?  What is the story here?

I expect that this area is destined for new development when all these whispers from the past will be cleared away and covered over. These frail lives will not even remain a memory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.