My Birthday!!!

I have hit the half century finally!
Now I start counting backwards :)

We went for our morning swim in our bathtub in front of the house then went for breakfast.
We actually had purchased a bottle of bubbly for this occasion, but I did not fancy to drink alcohol yet.

Neil took my birthday presents with him and got them during breakfast.
And Oh - WOW!!
Neil had bought me a MINT TL 70, an instant camera I was eying at since summer!!
It looks like a Rolleiflex, with the difference that it produces instant images. How awesome is that?
I was chuffed and very very happy!!!
What a great surprise. 
And he did not stop with the camera, he also got me a lens set, a leather strap and film!!!

The next hour or so was dedicated to finding out how the camera works, doing some (not very good) test shots, and being really happy!!

We had no plans for today, we just stayed in the shadowy bar of Luar Das Aguas and relaxed reading, doing photos, chatting …. Whatever occurred most pleasant.
I stayed out of the sun all day, to get not further burnt. 
We did go for another swim in the afternoon and then got ready to walk up to O Ceu de Boipeba, a bar on the hill with panoramic views.
We found the right path from the beach luckily, as there are no signposts really, until you actually arrive.
Unfortunately we were a little late, but I think the sunset was not the most exciting anyway.

We had a glass of wine, sat on the terrace and enjoyed the calm and the views.
This bar is only open from 4:30 until 7:30 pm. Just for sunset watching.
We liked the atmosphere and will probably go there again one evening.

We left after dark and found our way into the village and passed by the Museum de Osso - the Bone Museum, a small place where a fisherman showed curiosities he had fished out of the ocean. 
Whale bones, turtle shells, sting ray stings and much more. He was showing us through and explained what the different bones were.
It was sweet. He also had a guest book where everyone had to put their name.
I bought some shells for 1 Real each and then we continued walking down to the shore.

We had picked probably one of the best or most expensive restaurants in Velho and were lucky that we got a table outside.

I had a wonderful prawn salad and grilled octopus!! It was both fabulous.
Neil went for the Pincanha. 
We overdid it a bit as we did not resist the desserts and had both a crepe. Mine with chocolate and bananas, Neil’s with Dulce de Leite.

Very full we made our way home. I had another herbal tea on the veranda before bed and Neil was asleep already when I came back in.

It was a great and very relaxed birthday. It could not have been better!

Blipping of course my wonderful new camera!!
I am soooooo chuffed about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.