Walking Velho

I went for a wee walk at 5:30 am and walked on the sandbank as I thought the light was really nice.
Once I had arrived, the light was gone … doh!

I went back to bed and woke up again at 8:30 am and found Neil in the hammock!
First time he was up before me.

We did the usual swim before breakfast and then decided to walk into the village. I wanted a bath suit to cover my burnt belly!
I actually found 2 in the first shop! 

Then we walked again through Velho in the heat of noon time.
Which was a bit stupid, as it was very hot and the sun is very intense.
On the way back we stopped at Ponto do Barra for a beer. Back at home it was after 3 pm. Already and we went for a swim.
It was lovely lying in the shallow water and being gently moved from the waves.

Our hut is so handy, direct at the beach, we do not need to take anything when we go for a swim and get easily back for a shower to wash off the sand and the salt.

I went to the bar to do my blip from yesterday, and Neil enjoyed the coolness of the room. We do have a functional air-condition.

At the “pier” we saw a lot of new arrivals carrying their luggage and fans!!! Seriously!! I have never seen someone travelling with a fan, until today!

We had dinner at the Pousada and I met a young guy from Switzerland, who is doing 3 months travelling through South America on a student arts grand! He had already done a months in Colombia and will go next to Chile.
It was nice talking.

The bar had been sooooo busy over the afternoon, that the caipirinha was out when Neil ordered one with dinner. Imagine that in Brazil!
Luckily we had three in the fridge, so Neil could get the drink of his choice.

I chatted  bit linger, while Neil was attracted by the bed and a cool room. The wind we had the last few days had ceased, making the place hotter again.

Blipping some shots I took during our walk. Excuse the kitsch-colours, I cannot help it, this is Boipeba!

Main is a view at Velho "harbour" 
Extras:
Early morning view from the send bank to our Pousada. The blue house is ours.
Food and supply get delivered by boat at high tide, view from our bar.
Parking the "environment friendly "truck" backwards in Velho. There was a lot supply arriving today at the small pier and mules and carts were queuing up to transport all over the island. Boipeba is preparing for the huge parties for "Réveillon" or Hogmanay.
Party guests arriving with their own fans!! Seriously.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.