I no longer have the Blues

A day for starting to sort things before the new year starts.

But we did manage a brief sojourn to the Moss late afternoon. 

I took my little camera. In recent weeks I haven't been able to use it in anything but auto mode. Anything else comes out ridiculously blue, demonstrated by the blip image (the extra is a shot using auto by way of contrast).

I have now worked out the problem and solved it (great having some time to do things at this time of year, there is a fanfare going on in my head as I type that sentence). My little camera is very little, which means that it is very easy for clumsy fingers to press something accidentally with unexpected consequences. Somehow I had moved the white balance to some sort of manual control using the kelvin scale. I don't understand that either.

New year resolution - get to grips with some of these buttons on this little camera, and become a bit more confident about it.

But that isn't the good news from the Moss. That is that whilst looking at the back of my camera with furrowed brow a short eared owl appeared, a sweeping flight across the Moss in search of voles. It stayed for some time too, occasionally plunging down when it saw/heard a movement. A quite magical bird, beautifully marked as well. 

Now catching that would have been a good blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.