Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

My rescuer

Yesterday I sent an email to the person who was going to take me to my physio appointment today, just to check that all was OK. It wasn't. He could not take me. (Family illness and need to drive south.) Whoops.

I sent a round robin to several friends. The first to reply was Lil. Was she too late? No, she had the job.

She picked me up and we went to Newcastle for my physio. Although I can drive, Arth is sore after a short distance. I also did not know what the physio would do!

We had a great catch up on the journeys. Lil had the wonderful news that her latest grandchild was born on 27th December during the night. Lil and Dave were staying near but had no idea what had happened, until they arrived the next morning - and there was a new baby born at home. The midwife arrived just in time!

Helen, my lovely physio at the Nuffield, reassured me that my progress is exactly on course for 7 weeks post op. Extension is only 2 degrees off 0. (Of course I wanted it to be 0 already.) Flexion is at 110 degrees which is great. I have to keep on with what I'm doing.

I now have only one stick for walking outside and none inside the house.

On the way home, we stopped at Morrisons in Newcastle because we are out of prunes. Two of us take opiates at the moment! This was my first supermarket shop and I survived. It took 5 minutes.

I slept this afternoon, not by design. I was in my armchair to avoid the afternoon sleep in bed. Lack of sleep at nights catches up on you.

Since I have a few extra photos remaining, I decided to catch the twins. It is exactly 11 months since they arrived. Daisy was relatively easy. Oscar stayed out late, until we were worried about fireworks. Here he is in one of his hiding places in Mum's workroom. He thinks that if he keeps his eyes closed, I won't know he is there!!

So to the end of 2018. Perhaps I should give the last words to Arth and Aggie.

Arth: The physio was very pleased with me today., although I didn't like that bit where she "mobilised" me ten times!
Aggie: Yes Arth, but she said you had to keep on with your exercises. No slacking in the New Year.
Arth: I have to admit I can only do it with your help, Aggie, and perhaps a bit of help from WalkingMarj  too.


PS After I finished my blip and shut down the computer, Oscar came upstairs and posed on the landing (see extra 4). He then came into the lounge and sat in front of me with his eyes open. What a star. I think he is finally coming round.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.