Reading On The Beach

We had a slow start to the day.  BB was sleepwalking during the night and ended up in our bed.  One of us should have gone to his bed, but I don’t think I ever woke up properly, though when I did wake up in the morning I was exhausted, due to a broken night.  No one ran today!

Instead we headed back to Abbotsbury to use up our multi-use ticket.  Having visited the swans last week, we went to the sub-tropical gardens today.  It was pleasant and quite shaded, but I don’t think we saw the gardens at their best.  I guess you need to visit them at different times of the year to appreciate them.  We were impressed with the kookaburra though – as we couldn’t remember ever seeing one before.

We then walked down to the beach with our picnic and enjoyed a couple of hours relaxing in the heat.  Later in the afternoon we walked back to the village and climbed the mound to visit St Catherine’s chapel.  There were a few offerings to St Catherine, and I loved the one with a note that said:


A husband, St Catherine

A handsome one,  St Catherine

A rich one, St Catherine

A nice one, St Catherine

And soon, St Catherine


We stopped off to explore Maiden’s Castle on our way home. It is the largest and most complex iron age hillfort in Britain. 

Here’s BB  reading Wonder on Chesil Beach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.