Beldam Lascar

It’s August – how did that happen.  July has passed in a flash.  No BB this morning, so we went for the early train.  It turned up and we got on.  it stopped at the next stop and didn’t start again.  The Caledonian Sleeper had broken down on the mainline and we couldn’t get into Edinburgh.  We all had to get off the train and we went in search of a bus.  Luckily we got a bus quite quickly and I got to work about twenty minutes later than I would have done if the train had made it to Waverley.

My work day passed in a flash.  I had about fifteen minutes to grab my sandwich and then at around 3pm, I decided to go out for half an hour as I had been at my desk or in meetings all day.  I had a wander up Calton Hill and realised what a lovely day it was.  The sun was out and so were the tourists.

I worked a bit later than normal for a Thursday as BB was playing football on Leith Links and I was going to meet TT at the match.  I wandered down Leith Walk.  Many years ago TT and I lived down Leith Walk and there was no café society and pavement dining in those days.  Back then it was mostly pubs that you wouldn’t dare go into.  How times have changed.

It took me a while to find the football match, but I did find them eventually.  BB had a good game and really enjoyed it.  To add to his happiness, his team won.  He’s certainly much more positive about it than he was at his last club.  Long may that continue.

It was then home for a  late tea and thoughts of bed.

I had some blips from my wander up Calton Hill, but came upon this when I was wandering to football.  I’ve no doubt it will be gentrified sometime soon.  There is some information here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.