Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Arizona Wonderland

I woke up to some snow on Monday morning but had slept through the best of it. (I'll back blip the birds I took when I woke up).  I heard there was a chance of snow overnight once again, so I set my alarm for  little earlier.  My jaw dropped when I opened the blinds and looked out the glass door.  Truly a winter wonderland.  I've only seen snow on the ground once before since I've lived here and it didn't last very long.  Although the ground melted fairly quickly, it  stayed on the foliage and wall for hours.

Before I went to bed I put a hummingbird feeder and dish of water in a protected area of the patio.  When you see the extras, you'll realize why it turned out to be a decent idea.  The hummingbirds were still able to get some nectar despite their usual feeding hole being immersed in the white stuff.  I also included two succulents in the extras.  The first is a red yucca.  The second is a cholla cactus.  I was so excited I went out  on the cement barefoot (and without the boot on my ankle) to take these pictures.  It was really awesome.  I don't know if we'll get any more snow but we're still under a winter weather advisory for the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.