JR at Night

I did not plan this image for today - it's a view of the John Radcliffe hospital in Oxford, the maternity unit in particular.

It was a relatively quiet morning and then J and I decided we would take down the Christmas tree, sort out all the decorations and pack them away for next year. So we were just getting to the end of this task when I picked up a message from the Remember My Baby charity that there was a family in Oxford needing our services. As I am quite close, I was one of the volunteer Photographers asked to attend if possible. I was able to go so contacted the Bereavement Midwife and arranged to head over.

It was a very gentle and calm session. The baby had been premature and lived for two days. He was so miniature and perfect. Dad, reluctant at first, was persuaded to join in the photos with Mum and then I took a lot of the baby on his own.

I would love to share some images with you but I can't do that. So it's a blip of the exterior of the hospital as I prepared to drive home. It was an emotionally moving session but I am so glad I can help this lovely family in some small way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.