My happy place

After a morning of ironing with The Archers, and preparing the casserole for the slow cooker I cycled up to the allotment. There I managed to dig and properly weed one bed. It took me a bit over an hour, but it was very satisfying. I think I feel happiest when I'm on the allotment (not necessarily on my own, as I was today, but I had Gardeners Question time for company) It is especially nice when it is dry, and I'm keen to get as many beds dug before very cold weather turns the ground hard. I have 8 more beds this size to dig. I plan to make this one a bit wider, then it will be my first earlies potato bed. I want it wide enough for two rows. There were small beetroot growing (sown by the previous owners) so I dug them up and brought them home. I'll see if they can be boiled and pickled. They might be too woody.

The chickens seemed happy. Minnie had a bad limp previously, but has slowly been getting better, and now seems fine. I've added an extra of them. I did say to them, some eggs would be nice, but they know I'll still feed them and chat even if they don't lay ( which they don't much, even in the season!)

Back home Jon and Henry have done more work adding more sockets in the garage. It's ready now for the toilet, and then doors. I just can't wait for another toilet!!

Just caught up on last week's Les Mis drama, ready for the 2nd episode tonight. So just time for a quick bath...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.