More collections...

I can’t help it. Here are a few of the postcards I bought yesterday in the charity shop for 10p each. There are several things I like about them. The handwriting, the messages, the stamps and dates....lastly the pictures! I have decided the six fanned our underneath I am going to put in a frame with just the message sides showing. I’m looking forward to doing that as part of a ‘sorting stuff out’ day tomorrow.

Today we went in to Norwich for shopping. Specifically Jon wanted jeans in the sale and I had promised Henry I’d buy him a coat in the sale. Debenhams came up trumps on both. Mollie had less success in John Lewis where very little of what you want is kept in stock, so they suggested she order online. What are people who like going in shops to buy things supposed to do? It is soon to be the end of our high street shops, as the demise of some big names like BHS has already shown. If I am forced to, I buy online, (but never clothes) and nothing if I don’t have to. Christmas just gone, I didn’t buy anything online.

We were out nearly all day. Back home, I cooked a proper egg and bacon fry up then Mollie went to Cromer to meet friends. We are going to watch a film.

I just want to go back to my postcards. The one on the top is my favourite. Can you see why? It is dated 31/7/1953. The Queen was coronated on 2/6/1953 succeeding her father George VI who died in February 1952. But this postcard has a stamp with the Queen and one with the dead king. Just a month after her coronation. I wonder how common it is. The card itself is not special - a black and white photo ‘Across the beach to Polzeath’. But it caught my eye, seeing those two stamps together.

Today, I went back in and bought the rest of the old postcards. £1.10 yesterday and £1.50 today. A nice new collection!!! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.