Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Mono Monday - Beginnings

For the first time in many years I wasn't a member of a health club for much of 2018.  I used outdoor pursuits to maintain cardio vascular health but over time I've been aware of an increase in aches and pains, not to mention loss of flexibility.

Today I joined L on what I might call a new beginning.  I was able to take advantage of a guest ticket and took part in the wonderful world of 'express pump' and pilates.  The former sounds something a new mother might use but turned out to be exercise with weights; it took very little time for my muscles to start protesting at this cruel and painful method of torture.  

I was thinking that pilates would be a breeze in comparison but my inflexibility, married to a very attentive instructor who took it as her personal mission to push me as hard as my tight muscles and tendons would allow, put pay to that belief!  I was glad to be able to stretch out (just) and relax in the pool and sauna afterwards.

The mad thing is I'm actually considering joining the club so I can repeat this purgatory on a regular basis.

Seriously, as I get older I do think I will benefit from such exercise, certainly the pilates which might actually result in me being able to straighten some of my limbs during the class in the fullness of time.  I've recognised a deterioration not only in flexibility, which has the knock on effect on aches and pains, but also balance and dexterity that I've always been able to rely on when out on the fells and mountains of our national parks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.