Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Essex Bridge (over the River Trent)

I felt much better than I expected after yesterday's efforts.  I quite happily kept with my original intention, heading up to the Glacial Boulder on Cannock Chase for sunrise (a bit of a disappointment - not enough clouds and too many con trails) and then a looped walk to Shugborough Estate and along the Trent and Mersey Canal, before returning via Abraham's Valley.

Sunshine was the order of the day.  It certainly brings out the best in people, with everyone I passed making some appropriate remark about it being good to be out in this weather.  In fact it was that warm I was in a light fleece and T-shirt most of the time (and trousers, of course!).  

This is the view of Essex Bridge, which joins the estate to Great Haywood.  The sun was high enough to illuminate some of the arches.  I had to check back which river it actually crosses as it's at the confluence of the Sow and Trent.  As one might expect the Trent takes primacy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.