Kongerøkelse

“Epiphany... falls on January 6 and marks the official end to the festive season for many Christians... In the West, Christians began celebrating the Epiphany in the 4th century, associating it with the visit of the Wise Men to Jesus... During the medieval period, Christmas was celebrated for the 12 days from Christmas Eve on December 24, until the Epiphany. Even up until the 19th century, January 6 was as big a celebration as Christmas Day...” http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2016/11/18/what-is-the-epiphany-and-when-in-2017-is-it-here-are-10-facts-ab/

Kongerøkelse: another Norwegian Christmas gift, the three Wise Men bearing gifts of fragrant incense, heated by a candle below.

(My 5th January “Twelfth Day of Christmas” backblip accidentally ended up being posted as my journal entry for the 6th, so I’ve had to post my 6th Jan Epiphany blip as my 5th January journal entry. Hope you can follow all that!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.