Waiting

THINGS TO BE GRATEFUL FOR:
Both boys made it safely driving through the deluge to their respective schools yesterday. Peter and two friends didn't leave until 6pm, so I was happy to get the following response to my enquiry this morning: 'Drive was wet but we made it!' I can only imagine....

It is expected to rain all week but at least we don't have to worry about fires and preemptive power outages....

Knitting keeps me happily occupied when there is just no reason to go outside.

The birds give me plenty to watch while I knit. There was quite a scrum as they flew around waiting for their proper place in the queue while they waited for someone to leave. It was like a study in Brownian motion. Then, in the blink of an eye, they would all disappear as a pair of acorn woodpeckers swooped in. When it became clear that the woodpeckers were busy chasing each other, the little birds would come back, but keep a respectful distance....

Daughter -in-law Amy and granddaughter Julia will be spending the night later in the week as part of a mother daughter trip.

THINGS I COULD LIVE WITHOUT
A government shutdown over a wall that amounts to little more than a self aggrandizing monument to waste and stupidity, and a president who insists the 'crisis' at the border amounts to a national emergency...a crisis almost entirely of his own making. A lot of misery is being inflicted on a lot of people by an 'emergency' that isn't.

We did have a power outage today. It wasn't preemptive, just inconvenient. It was fairly quickly fixed, but since we had no power, we were unable to find out what the reason for it was...

My knitting let me down today. I counted incorrectly when casting on and the only solution seemed to be to start over. Since counting at the beginning is crucial, I found myself losing count and having to start over enough times to cause grumpiness. Grumpiness which was little short of rage when the undone wool became hopelessly entangled....

The birds have all gone to bed, and Fergus has just begun his evening song, accompanied by a growing chorus of frogs. It must be time for a glass of wine...and about time too.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.