Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Sunset

My sunrises used to be distinguished by a lovely palm tree overlooking the mountains.  Then whomever bought that house had the tree removed. Dang. I've been taking quite a few sunSETS more recently the majority of which now include a different distinguishing feature...a giant phallus symbol disguised as a Giant Saguaro cactus.  Not quite as exotic.  Still, the colors and textures of Arizona rises and sets leave nothing to be desired.

I had lunch today with the three people most responsible for the sale of Mom's house: the agent, the stager and the photographer.  It was nice to catch up with everyone.  I think they were surprised that the entire staff  knew me.  It's like walking into a place like "Cheers" where everybody knows your name.

I'm finding meal preparation the most difficult thing abut this ankle fracture.  She won't eat unless the food is placed in front of her and right now I'm not physically able to stand in the kitchen to cook for either of us.  I can live on fruits, vegetables, legumes, fish and grains but of that list, she'll only eat fruit.   I haven't had broccoli or cabbage since she moved in.  I miss my stinky vegetables.

The pain is constant but manageable for most of the day.  It's easy to get careless, though.  Like walking around the house wearing the boot but without a walker or crutches.  Tonight it hit me suddenly and hard and that was it for the rest of the day.

Thinking about adding a sixth day onto the caregiver schedule, if for no other reason than to make sure Mom has at least one decent meal and to pick up groceries for her.  I'll do my best to fend for myself.  Maybe tomorrow...cabbage!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.