Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hello, # 6!

I would usually send a photo like this right to the bin, but this is the first Yellow-bellied Sapsucker (yes, that is really it's name) I've seen in the yard in several years.  Funny, when I was outside yesterday, I thought I heard one in the woods but then figured I must have been mistaken.  So as I was sitting on the sofa in front of the fire this morning, watching the comings and goings at the feeder, it took my brain a moment to recognize what I was seeing.  And of course, as I moved to get my camera, she flew straight off into the woods.  But, I had a feeling ... so I parked myself in stealth mode on the sofa and waited.  Eventually rewarded as she flew up and made her way to the feeder where she had a nice, long meal.  

There are four species of Sapsucker (genus Sphyrapicus) in N. America with this being the only one in our area.  Our little corner of New Jersey is actually between their summer breeding grounds, and their wintering grounds, so there I usually most commonly see them during migration.  However, there are random individual birds who will stay here all winter, or breed here in summer.  This one is easily identified as a female by her white throat; males have a brilliant red throat.  

So, the photo features a bird feeder (which I don't like including) and was taken through my slightly-less-than-clean window.  But It may be my only chance for this yard bird this year, so I'm going with it.  And if I get lucky and get a better photo later, I can retag it for my Yardbirds 2019 photo project.

Absolutely frigid today so didn't linger outside other than to top off feeders and water for the birds.  Day five for the week at the gym.  And I discovered that the gym's internet is strong enough that I can stream something on my iPad while on the treadmill which really helps to pass the time.  

Only a couple of more days until I am off to Arizona and mom and dad!  Very excited.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.