Willy Wagtail babies!

Sometimes you just shake your head at the sight that lies before you.  I have just taken my first images of a Willy Wagtail feeding its babies.  Sue alerted me to the fact that there was a little nest sitting on a branch overhanging the Billabong but she hadn't seen any sign of the chicks.  I decided to get the camera and go and take a closer look.  If nothing else I would be able to get a shot of the nest.   As I approached I thought I could see a little head or two just above the top of the nest.  I stood quietly by the tree and took aim.   To my great delight the mother Willy Wagtail came fluttering up to the nest and started feeding them.  These are the moments when you literally stop breathing.  This is a first for this wombat and I'm thrilled to be able to share it with my blip buddies.

I know I'm repeating myself, but I really do like this when you look at the LARGE version.  That black surround makes such a HUGE difference :)

I will go back out later this evening when it's cooler and see if I can take some more of the action.

We are planning to head home tomorrow and will try for an early start.  It's going to be a very hot day but we will be comfortable with the air-con on and we're driving a good road.  I'm hoping I can get to Wagga Wagga in good time and then with any luck make it to Wombat Hollow by Monday afternoon.  I will play it by ear this time as I will be very conscious of how my wonderful partner is travelling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.