Hadrian's Wall

I have always wanted to see Hadrian's Wall and today was the day!!
First of all we went to the wonderful visitor centre at The Sill. All stone and wood and grass roofs, and full of maps and leaflets and lovely art and ceramics. And fridge magnets. I do like a good visitor centre!!!
We had a delicious breakfast - toasties for the Little Misses and a full English for me and Mr K. It was once of the nicest breakfasts I've had for ages.
Before setting off into the wilds along the wall we went to the fabulous Roman Army Museum a few miles away. It was brilliant - so many artefacts, crossbows for the Little Misses to try their hands at, models of the baths and forts,  loads of videos and projections, and Yorkshire tea in the cafe!!
There was a fascinating 3D film - Edge of Empire  showing the wall and surrounding forts both as they are now and as they would have been. With modern footage, CGI recreations, re-anactments and an eagles-eye view soaring along the wall. So interesting!!! See extras for the Little Misses rocking their 3D glasses!!
From there we headed to Steel Rigg and finally set off to get close to the wall. Wow!!!! I loved it!!!!
Having seen all the shoes in the museum I was a bit obsessed with the thought of Roman feet walking those same paths two thousand years ago!
There was a section that had crumbled a bit and I was giddy at the thought that the last time those stones had been touched was by a Roman stonemason. Probably fanciful but it made my head spin!!!
We huffed and puffed our way up and down cliffs (actual cliffs with steps in. Blimey, I'm unfit!!!!) until we got to Sycamore Gap. Even in the murky weather it was quite something to see.
Mr K started blathering on about sunset and being out in the wilderness in the dark so we headed back. Some people have no sense of adventure!!!!
He may have had a point though because  I was so knackered by the time we got back to the bottom of the hill leading up to the car park that Mr K had to literally push me up. So dignified!!!
We hadn't sorted out anywhere to stay tonight having been undecided about staying round here or going a bit further south for an explore. As we sat in the car park overlooking the wall I called a campsite in the Yorkshire Dales to see if they had space. They did so off we set!!
With a quick stop in Carlisle to get a spanner from Halfords - we ran out of gas a few days ago and couldn't put the spare bottle in because we didn't have a spanner big enough! We also got Subways for dinner while we were there to save having to cook later.
Then it was quick trip down the M6 to the lovely Orcarber Farm campsite near Settle.
They have one of the loveliest Christmas trees I've seen this year. The photo in extras doesn't do it justice but it reminds me and makes me smile!!! So old fashioned and gorgeous! It made me so happy when we arrived!
Within ten minutes of getting here we were all tucked up in our comfy beds.  I love Marshall!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.