The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Games party repeat (a day late)

Saturday was intense. A full day at youth club, 8.15-5.30. Two sessions, with a break for lunch. Outside, the older boys tend to fight or get into mischief, so I invent diversions for them. Today it was retrieving lost footballs from the other side of the fence, without climbing the fence. Teamwork and co operation are required

Steve picked me up afterwards. Back home, I carried on making food for the games party I was hosting. Once again, my friend J was not able to attend, but we had a mostly new crowd, friends of friends. We played Ex Libris, the writing game, again, and Pictionary. SA brought the Worst-Case Scenario survival game, but we didn't play it because we ran out of time She kindly left it so I can try it out with others. Maybe J when she is ok again.

It was all over by 11, but I stayed up putting the room to rights. Hadn't even had.a drink. I've accidentally stumbled into dry January. Might keep it going until my birthday on 5th February, because I started on 6th after I caught a virus, and kept going.

Today our friends P and M came up from Bristol. I hadn't seen them for a year, because M has had her own worst case scenario, undergoing treatment for an invasive cancer. We caught up with the news, had lunch together, and went for a walk around our local Victorian cemetery, which is also a nature reserve. Our neighbour joined us briefly, and Mary left with a pile of my books to borrow. I'm not a very bedside-y person, but I do send books, DVDs, puzzles and even chocolate to friends who are poorly. I guess in a few years' time it'll be Netflix vouchers. Either that, or we will have eliminated illness.

I very tired now after the rigours of Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Friday was a social day, it's true, but I did have to shop and cook in preparation for Saturday.

.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.