Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

The Twilight Zone

I woke up before the alarm I'd set for 4am, with the intention of doing the 5.30am sunrise over Plettenberg Bay (South Africa). Looking out the apartment window the sky was clear and the stars were out so I was in place by 4.15am. The lagoon tide was on its way in and was like a tidal bore, making a noise like Nessy wading the Loch.

Just after 5am the sky was light so it's just as well I got there early as I captured the twilight zone, that period where the stars are still visible as the sun is rising and giving its first glow. The blipfoto shows Plettenberg Lagoon with the stars out and sun just about to rise. (Best viewed in large on a HD screen if youwant to see the stars properly)

We retuned about 3pm for the low tide to wade across the Lagoon and walk the seashore. I bumped into an english professional photographer Curt Hugo Werlitzer (Brighton) who happened to be using the same film camera, a Rollei 35, as I had........so we chatted for quite a while and exchanged details. Nice bloke - on holidays here with his SA wife and staying with her parents who live in Plett.

We're packing now ready to move on tomorrow morning for our flight from Port Elizabeth to Durban.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.