St Alkmund's

A failed hair appointment gave me time to waste in Shrewsbury this morning to justify the car park charges. I wandered down past this church and was drawn to these elegant windows, made of cast iron from local Coalbrookdale in the 1790s. There used to be 12 but the dear Victorians (the ruiners of many fine old churches) replaced the majority with stone versions, lumpy and ugly next to their delicate neighbours and with no obvious proportional reference to them. Such a shame. Apparently the East window is rather lovely but I didn't find out until later - one for a return visit.

Doctor's appointment to basically get permission to have a x-ray for info about the knee. I can have free physio too so I'll use all the info and see if I can't speed the healing up a bit more. Anything to get back to fighting fitness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.