Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Special day? Oscar is bored!

Usually both Oscar and Daisy go out quite promptly when I open their cat flap in the morning. Oscar loves to be out in the garden. Daisy pops in and out all day, checking in with us every time, until later afternoon when she takes over Mum's bed and snuggles up on a fleecy blanket.

This morning I was surprised to find Oscar on his/my armchair when I went to open the curtains in the lounge. He allowed me to take a few photos and then indicated how he felt with this magnificent yawn.

It's my birthday today and a very low key affair. I'm still nursing Arth, but I did manage to go to choir this afternoon. A large group of very enthusiastic singers got together. We are singing a song from Wicked and it has wonderful harmonies. In contrast is the 16th century madrigal, Weep O mine eyes by John Bennett. I love madrigals and I'm not sure I am going to be able to accustom myself to singing them without a definite beat in the bar. We are all encouraged to count the number of beats (in crochets not minims) and as I watch different people beating at different rates, I nearly have to close my eyes. It's glorious music and I just wait and see how it works out in the long run. This is very different from singing with a group who can read music or know musical theory or who are used to following a conductor's beat. So a new experience and I think I must embrace it.

Liz came this morning with a book on the Hebrides - just perfect for me.

The district nurse came to take blood from Mum and said she will try to speed up the referral to Speech and Language who should help with the swallowing problems. All good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.