The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Blue sky

Yes, it does happen in January!
I got up late and went to the cinema for the oldies' screening of A star is born. The cinema was packed! Must have been the free coffee.

Enjoyed the film, sad though it was. I kept wanting to yell out, 'Don't hook up with a drunk!' (I've been there, done that, got the stained t-shirt...)

When I came out it was a brilliant sunny day, so I did some errands, including buying some veg. There is no longer a greengrocer in Stroud town, so I went to World Foods. The girl behind the counter looked European, but was extremely startled when I asked for celery and cucumber.
'What?' she managed, and gestured to her colleague.

He showed me silently to a stack of boxes, uncovered a cucumber, and shook his
head over the celery question. I took the cucumber, and some horseradish I had found, to the till, whereupon the man reappeared with a pack of celery. He whispered that he had lost his voice, and offered me a bag.

The female assistant, meanwhile, was receiving some training. "This is celery. No, not spelled with a K..No, not with an S..."

I suppose that, as the shop's main customers of the shop are Polish, that the female assistant must be fluent in Polish, and that English will grow on her, and the helpful man will regain his voice. Today's transaction was a bit like a comedy sketch, even though I did get all the three things I went in for.

The shot here is of Lansdown, in Stroud, with the Centre for Science and Art on the left, and the spire of the Spiritualist Church on the right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.