The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Friday night in Stroud and the Deep South

An early start, with a drive down to the Shambles market to unload my stall. My first sale wasn't acrually until 10.45, and a friend came to relieve me at 1 because I had to nip out to a meeting. I was back about twenty minutes later. Steve turned up at 2, but there were no sales apart from the short window between 10.45 and 12.45. The outdoor market stalls packed up early because of the cold weather, and that didn't help.our visibility.

I left Steve in charge of the stall, and went to pick up the children from school. Despite the wintry showers forecasted, nothing was happening apart from a cold wind freezing our bones.

I got the children back to their home, cooked supper, but got off early because of a slight change in arrangements. Found some beautiful lillies on the way home, on a roadside stall. I foresee that our house will be filled with amazing flowers on the days that I pass this stall! The supermarkets donate them when they are one or two days old, and they are sold in aid of Stroud hospital league of friends.

And so to the sofa, and the TV full of BBC4 music documentaries - yay! Tonight it's about rock stars growing old, but the documentary is already nine years old, and Lemmy and Leonard Cohen are dead. Then it's the turn of Reginald D Hunter, and the songs of Alabama and Georgia. How could I not love it? The guy is so cool, and the music so full of longing for the South.

The old jigsaw is finished, and a new one started
I'm cosy in my jumper and jammies. This my version of growing old: cat, chocolate, and heated throw. Rock and roll!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.