The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

What I am reading

Far from the madding crowd: Thomas Hardy
The kids' round the world cookbook: Deri Robins
Decorated papers and cards: Hilary Devonshire

The first on my list is for a course, text into film. I have to read the first fourteen chapters by next Tuesday. I am surprised at how much I'm enjoying reading it. Previously I've listened to the audiobook (unabridged) and watched the recent film, and a TV miniseries, but not actually read it. Now I'm reading the book and remembering the brilliant graphic novel Tamara Drewe by Posy Simmonds, and the hilarious film version of that, and how they connect with the original.

Still on my bucket list is a tour of Thomas Hardy's Wessex.I have visited Dorchester (Casterbridge), the Isle of Portland and other places mentioned in the novels, but not with a guide.

The other books are connected with my work with children (cooking) and for my own pleasure (paper and cards).

Not much time for reading today, because Steve's sister, nephew and his two sons came over for a visit. We hadn't seen them since last year, or, in some cases, the previous year. The weather was drizzly, so we went out for lunch at Curio, which took an age, but was worth it when the food arrived. I had buttermilk chicken and halloumi fritters in tapas sized portions. Wonder if I could do that at home?

After dropping off Steve at home, we went off to the Warehouse at Gloucester for climbing and bouldering. I used the autobelays and attempted some bouldering, which I never do. It made me realise I'd like to try Pilates again. I was good at that, once. I like the feeling of stretching, but the yoga classes I've done were a little too complicated for me.

Back home again now, I'm thinking about making 'bread' based on apple puree, seeds and nuts (from the Wheat Belly book) but Michelle Obama is on TV, so she will probably win. What an incredible, inspiring woman, and what a change from Brexit News.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.