An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Patience is a virtue...

Backblipped 19.01.19

David quickly nipped down the town before Lola's morning walk.  She knew he'd be back soon as he'd put her collar on knowing he would pick her up on the way back to take her to the moor.  I thought she'd gone back to her bed in the boot room but when I went into the hall, there she was, patiently waiting for him to get back.  

She was actually lying on the mat when I saw her, but by the time I returned with my camera she'd heard the car in the driveway and was sitting to attention, awaiting her master's return :-))

Today I did some more ironing after sorting through the ironing pile and removing more items to the charity bag.  That's one way to reduce the iron pile!

I spent a bit of time planning dinner for tomorrow night.  It's the start of my birthday weekend (no point in just having a birthDAY.  Got to make a weekend of it ;-) and Ele, Kenny, Agnes and Adrian are coming up for dinner.  David's doing the cooking (since it's my birthday weekend :-) so I wanted something straightforward.  In the end, since it's almost Rabbie Burns' birthday too, I went for traditional Burns night fair - haggis, neeps and tatties followed by Tipsy Laird. 

Cock a leekie soup is normally the starter but I have gone for homemade smoked mackerel pate and homemade mushroom pate (for Agnes as she's  odd veggie :-))  Of course I will have to make both pates myself but neither are difficult to make so don't mind that.

We also took delivery of the new bed for the small spare room.  It's a king size that can be converted to two singles as the need arises.  We are so impressed with the company.  The delivery guys carried the beds upstairs, unpacked them, checked them, put them together, attached the headboards and checked them all again.  One headboard is literally 1mm higher than the other (you can't see at the top but at the bottom near the mattress) It doesn't bother me as the pillows cover it (and to be honest of you don't know you would never notice) but they were adamant that they would report it to the office and someone would call us within 10 minutes of them leaving us.

We did receive a call from the office from a sales lady, very apologetic and saying she would pass the information to the office manager, who in turn would call us within 2 working days to advise what will happen.  In the meantime we can use them (just as well as otherwise Agnes and Adrian would have been on a sofa bed!)  We couldn't resist a lie down on it.  Oh it's fantastic!  My eyes were closing!

Got the bed made up with the new bed linen and got the cushions in place and I am over the moon with it.

Late dinner then I finally got to sit in a comfy chair for an hour of tv before bed. 

Another day gone in a blink!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.