I needed...

...some cards, to reply to some Christmas cards I received. I am of the age where you seem to get more bad news of old friends dying, or not surviving their cancer battle.

So I wanted to make some gel print cards as something a bit more personal and special to the recipients.

But I just cannot do anything I am happy with. I have already tried twice and I am not satisfied with the cards I made. It is going to be February before I know it. So I determined to do some today.

I had some paper doilies. So I thought these might be suitable to make prints from. But, I was using a different printing plate. The actual gelli plate one I was using. I've not used this one before. I have only used the gel press plate up to now which is a cheaper one.

I do not like the actual gelli plate which reviewers say is the best one. It doesn't print well at all. But I stayed with it for today to give it a good try. I am sorry I got that one now. I wish I had got the gel press plate in that size now.

The paper doilies stuck to the gelli plate badly and I ended up cleaning them off the gelli plate.

So I found a different piece of lace which was a very thick substantial piece. It made good prints. I was twisting and turning it on the gelli plate, and it was quite effective. So, although I was enjoying myself mostly, these don't even look like the basis of condolence cards to me....

I like the second one on the bottom row the best. I have done more than those, so when I wake up in the morning, I will see if there are any that can be made into cards...

I've sort of been reminiscing about these friends while I was doing these prints. Remembering. Remembering things and escapades we got up to. I got up to a lot in my younger days...

I am going to go out first thing and get a breakfast, come home and make a fresh start and try again with these cards.

Have a good weekend.
Thank you for looking in.
Take care x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.