MikeWest

By MikeWest

After the Storm

What a change from yesterday! It was still snowing when I went out, having done so all night since the previous evening. But, it was very confusing, I didn't know what to shoot and got a bit snap happy. In the end I tried to capture the gloomy foreboding nature of the day with the S-curve of the road leading through the trees.

I didn't know whether to bring out some texture in the snow or leave it smooth white. I had hoped to be out before the plow came, but he told me that was 5am when I met him later on his second run, so that wasn't going to happen.

I also desaturated and added a touch of split toning to the shadows to enhance the cold feeling.

And it was cold, with a high of 20F, I was glad of my new heated gloves. They didn't keep my hands all that warm, but my fingers didn't freeze either, unlike with ordinary thin liner gloves I had been using (for dexterity).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.