Mementos - Tiny Tuesday

A contribution to Tiny Tuesday, a memento. This is my dad’s knife. He used it in his work in a walled Victorian garden all his life. I understand he obtained it during the war. On the blade are the words “real lambs foot”. I’m not sure to what it is referring. Perhaps the handle?

I inherited it when he died and it’s been used on the allotment the last 8 years. There’s an interesting patina of rust and other blemishes on the blade and a single wisp of grass from when it was last used. Much as I treasure the knife, it’s also a working tool and has had its fair share of scares whilst in my possession. It’s been put down at the allotment and lost for a few weeks, it’s ended up in a compost bin, having to be rescued before it rotted away. I try to remember to keep it in a pocket between jobs; that’s not easy.

In other news, I spent time on a very enjoyable conference call this morning, then we went out looking at new suites for the lounge followed by a walk in the cold gathering gloom of a January afternoon. Nice first thing though after overnight rain.

Doreen up again for the second day. Remains in great need of care for almost everything. Slowly, slowly.

Thank you to KangaZu for hosting Tiny Tuesday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.