North City Drive street scene

Sitting at the gate with a couple of hours to go before departing for Heathrow. We leave at 18.25 (02.25 UK time) arriving at 11.30 UK time.

We ubered up to LA as Chris was also flying from LA to San Francisco today for a symposium for the next couple of days. He’ll be there and I’ll still be waiting to board in LA.

I packed a lot in this morning, with an early 4 and a half mile run to overcome the effects of last night’s beer intake. Very pleased with how I felt seeing as I made myself jog up a mile long hill. A bowl of porridge later and I was taking Babe out for a 3 mile walk. Hoping to tire myself out for the overnight flight.

We dropped off Babe and a photo of Landon and DeShaun at her place, coming back to North City for lunch followed by the last bits of packing, bed stripping and bathroom cleaning.

By then the Uber was at the door and we had a trouble free trip up the I5 to LA travelling in the carpool express lanes as we could having 2 or more people in the car. Even babies count it seems.

It’s been a busy, full on week. I’m looking forward to getting home but obviously sad at having to leave them both. Hopefully, it won’t be too long until the next visit.

The main shot is of the street scene on North City Drive where Chris has his apartment. All very new around here, still lots of building to be done. There’ll be more retail shops as time goes on which I think will make it a very vibrant place to be - and it’s adjacent to the California State University at San Marcos which means there’s lots of young people about. By the time of our next visit Chris may well have moved out and bought his own place.

The extra is the 747 which has recently arrived at the gate and which will be taking us back to the UK

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.