Afternoon Tea

It was another cold but beautifully sunny day. I came home from church and immediately watched today’s cross-country ski race. It was the men’s 15k in the classic style from Otepaa in Estonia. The women did a 10k race this morning but I watched that later this evening on catch-up. I have to say - the women’s race was far more exciting than the men’s this weekend!

When the men’s race was done I knew I just HAD to get out and enjoy the sunshine. I went back to my favourite spot at the lake - where my sister and I had had a quick picnic on Thursday. It was equally cold today, but very still. This time I brought a chair! And a large flask of tea! And my kindle! And I had a very enjoyable hour in the sunshine. I was so warm in the direct sunlight that I had to take off my hat and scarf and unzip my coat.

It was all very civilised. I do get some odd looks (and occasional comments) from some of the dog walkers. But why WOULDN’T you want to sit outside in such a sunny day? It felt like being back in the Colorado winter sunshine that I so enjoyed when I lived there. My garden is totally shaded this time of year, so it’s great to have a place nearby to enjoy.

After about an hour the sun started to go behind the trees - about when I took this picture. And once that happened it was no longer warm enough to sit. But I look forward to going back soon. I think I’ll keep the chair in the car.

Tomorrow I will be cooped up in a plane again. So I’m glad I got plenty of fresh air and vitamin D today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.