Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

On holiday - in Humshaugh

Quite a few people come to stay in The George at Chollerford. Chollerford is the hamlet adjoining Humshaugh. In my childhood, this hotel was spoken of in hushed tones because it was so lovely. I remember being brought there with my parents for morning coffee on a "run out" in a friend's car.

The hotel does not have quite the same kudos now, but a steady stream of visitors stay. Often older couples come in the quieter season. 

I'm guessing that this couple were staying there. They had strong Yorkshire dialects when I chatted as I passed them on my walk. I just loved the way they held hands and were so attached to each other. I think they are in their 80s.

Arth, Aggie and I walked farther than we have done since the operation and lived to tell the tale. We walked from home, to The George, then to Chesters Roman Fort and home via Lincoln Hill. This was all on tarmac but a good stretch.

PS Yesterday's images:
The man on the stairs was made to look small due to the  very steep stairs. The man in the doorway was about to raise two fingers to me - but they were the happy two fingers that people use in photos, not the aggressive two fingers they might have been.
The young woman was the bartender in our hotel. She was made up for Halloween. I assume she is a zombie, but it struck me that without the context the image was potentially much more sinister. 


Thank you to those who commented.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.