Mono Monday...origin

Jen’s challenge is how we chose our blip name and how we got into blip. My usual name is Jane but I chose to become 59 as I was 59 years old and wanted to stay 59 for ever. It didn’t last long though as 60 was just around the corner.

It’s a great name, short and very easy to spell.

I looked up 59 on the internet and there were pages and pages of things, some I knew and some I didn’t understand. For example 59 ( fifty-nine) is the natural number following 58 and preceding 60 ( I did know that) but did you know a regular icosahedron has 59 stellations? I’m none the wiser but there is a pretty diagram of one if you need to know more on Wikipedia.

I was encouraged to start blipping by my sister isbi who had been doing it for 6 months or so. At first I used an old iPad but progressed to a Nikon d80 ( sold to me by blipper Hobbs). I now use a Panasonic bridge camera ( while the Nikon is in for repairs) and iPhone and new iPad which have improved in their technology. I like the fact that you can do your own thing on blip, take a photo a day if you wish but you don’t get into trouble if you forget. There are great challenges if you want to join in. I like the tags as I can remember the garden plants from one season to another or trips I have made. It’s a great diary. I love the friendships I have made too.

Today’s blip is the latest book I have read, the second by the Australian author Jane Harper who also wrote “The Dry” which I read on the cruise in December. Both are excellent books. I was well into it by the second page...it also has a satisfactory conclusion which tied up the loose ends.

Today I did some gardening and got three blisters, ouch. Then went shopping. Visitors ( Grange and Nina ) for morning tea. They came separately. This afternoon I did a “ memory test “ as Nina is needing to do them for work and wanted an older subject to practice on ( she has mostly worked with young people). We changed my age a bit so I could do the old version...it took ages. Some bits I found easy. Others hard.

We are having a mighty storm here at the moment.lightening, thunder and hail. At least it’s cooler.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.