HOLIDAY SOUVENIR

I had a very bad nights sleep.  Woke up with terrible cramp in both legs.  Took ages for it to ease - the pain was really excruciating.  I was in agony.  When I was able to I got up and walked around for a bit to make sure my legs were Ok before going back to bed.  I couldn't get back to sleep for ages - I was worried in case the cramp came back.  Finally dropped off around 7am.  I managed a few hours sleep after that.

This afternoon I had a doctors appointment.  The result of my chest x ray  showed that the white spot which was there previously has now gone.  Thats a relief.   Then on to the itching.  I'm still itching - but its been better since I started taking the tablets I got last time.  So the doc gave me a repeat prescription for those.  And a prescription for some different cream.  Expensive special cream apparently.  The doc said it was so special that the chemist would probably have to order it in.  And that proved to be the case.  I will pop down for it later in the week.

I was supposed to be at the footie this evening.  8pm kick off.  Newcastle v Manchester City.  But I cried off.  Its been a cold and rainy evening and I didn't fancy getting chilled to the bone at the match and then having to come home late. I was also worried in case it snowed while I was out.  ( in the end it didn't )  So I listened on the radio.  Of course I soon started wishing I was there.  Especially as - against all odds, Newcastle actually WON.  Final score Newcastle 2   Man. City 1.  Yay!.

The Tiny Tuesday theme today is the same as last week - to blip a special memento -  anything tiny you hold near and dear that you may have received as a gift or purchased whilst on vacation .... or you simply treasure. So here is a small souvenir  spoon I bought whist I was on holiday in Malta in 1974.  It was my first holiday abroad and I went with my Mam. 

I wanted to go to Malta to see my penfriend Iris who lived there.  I had been writing to her since about 1965. We are still in touch although these days its mainly through Facebook as her eyesight is bad and she isn't able to write letters. Her English was never very good but she did well writing lovely long letters over the years.  Since that first time I have back to Malta twice more.  Once with my youngest brother and once with Douglas, Becky and Neil. 

Of course this spoon reminds me of my first visit.  Me and my Mam had so much fun.  We stayed in a nice little hotel in Sliema and we met up with Iris and her husband quite a few times.  The weather was very hot - over 100 degrees and living in the North East of England we weren't used to heat like that.  We spent a lot of time in the shade. ( I still got heat rash. )  Thanks to KangaZu for hosting the challenge.

I texted Emma ( the Fitness Instructor ) to ask about Linda after her fall yesterday. Bad news - Linda has a broken collar bone.  However her husband is taking care of her and shes doing Ok.  The doctor recommended that she sticks to her normal routine as best she can.  Emma is gutted that it happened and blames herself - but she shouldn't as she can't watch Linda every second.

Steps today - 7,560

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.