DOLLY and DOUG

The Mono Monday challenge today is Origins (what's in a name). When Dollykgray was hosting MM some time ago she set a challenge for blippers to tell  how they got their blipnames and how they started on blip. The present host jensphotos decided to repeat the challenge today.

So how did I start on blip. I had read an article by money man Martin Lewis where he had a list of things you could do for free.  One of them was joining blipfoto.  I don't consider myself to be a photographer but I do enjoy taking photos and I thought it sounded like fun.  So I posted my first blip on 7th June 2011 - my 60th birthday.  And it proved to be the best decision ever.  I love being a blipper.   I have made so many lovely blip friends - and  have been very lucky to have met quite a few of them in person. And its great looking through my blip shots which bring back so many memories.

My blipname dollydoug is a combination of my name and my late husbands name.  I was christened Dorothy and all my friends and family call me Dorothy but my husband always called me Dolly.  He was Douglas and was always called Douglas - he didn't particularly like being called Doug.  But for my blip name I used Doug. (dollydouglas just wouldn't have worked as well)

I chose photos of us both for my blip and also some details from our birth certificates.

Fitness Class as usual this afternoon.  All was going well until the very end when we were doing our " warm down exercises ".  Linda went to grab her chair but missed and fell over.  She crashed to the ground and hit her head.  It was quite shocking.  Luckily her husband had arrived and was waiting in the vestibule so he was called in and he and Emma the instructor checked Linda over and made sure she was Ok.  She looked very shocked.  She is the lady who a couple of years ago was in a coma for a year due to a brain condition and when she woke up she had to learn to do everything again.  She couldn't talk or walk etc.  She has made good progress but her mobility is still poor and she can't follow the exercises very well  - she can't remember how to do things.  But at least she moves in her own fashion every Monday and that must help. I'm sure she will be back next week as her husband is very keen that she attends class.

Slimming Club this evening.  Very busy group with lots of members staying behind for  Image Therapy .  Total weight loss for the group was 66 pounds.  I lost 1½ pounds.  That makes 11½ pounds lost in 3 weeks.  And I was Slimmer of the Month. 

Steps today -15,411

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.