Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

The Master's Garden

Today's WidWed, hosted by steveng, has as a theme 'Tradition'.  However, as I very much wanted to also put something in for WildWed, hosted by Cailleach, my tradition had to take me outside.

This is part of the Master's Garden at St Cross.  As you'll know if you've followed my journal for any time, St Cross, on the outskirts of Winchester, is an exceedingly fine large Norman Church (more simple, more complete and in many ways more beautiful than the Cathedral).  Full name, Hospital of St Cross & Almshouses of Noble Poverty, it was founded by Henry of Blois in the 1130s and still keeps to its original purpose housing poor old men (13 originally, 25 now and where are the old women?).

The tall building you see here is part of the gatehouse, the long building is part of the Master's private route into the church for the days it rains, so I'm assuming the building that holds them together is his house, though I don't know for sure.  The (very old) garden is one of the most peaceful and beautiful spaces I know.  Over the wall at the back it looks across water meadows to St Catherine's Hill.

Okay, that's me for today.  Very many thanks to Cailleach and steveng for hosting today's challenges.  And have a great evening, all  xx

PS:  Today would have been my dad's birthday - I think he'd be proud of me for this one, he did love his BW

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.