Water Rail

I've been seeing a lot of images published of sightings of exciting things at the RSPB Leighton Moss reserve. I could hardly wait for a free day to get down there and see for myself!

I had wanted a wowy otter and kits blip as I've never blipped a wild otter and only rarely (3 times) seen a distant one. However I've designated a not-too-good image of the dog otter to Extras, along with the teal, as the catch of the water rail is also a first-time blip for me and only my second sighting, ever. A much rarer subject to blip! I'm thankful to Blipmate, gladders, for reminding me a few days ago, what they looked like! I found it hard to contain my excitement in the hush of the hide and then started to doubt my identification but I was waiting with the camera for it to re-emerge.

What a fabulous day The Man and I had! Other enthusiastic photographers patiently helped me locate the bittern, (they'd seen it flying!) something I've always wanted to see at this reserve. It's in Extras, too, with extreme cropping.

We saw a total of 32 bird species on the reserve:-

bullfinch, robin, dunnock, golden eye, whooper swan, coot, moorhen, greylag goose, mute swan, blackbird, song thrush, teal, mallard, gadwall, cormorant, marsh tit, blue tit, great tit, tufted duck, nuthatch, chaffinch, coal tit, pheasant, crow, starling, water rail, shoveler, marsh harrier, greenfinch, black-headed full, bittern, and snipe.

Re yesterday: glad Blipcentral explained about the nationality flags. I feel a bit guilty ranting about it now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.