They're HERE!

In case it has not become obvious, I'm a slight, budding, galanthophile.

I am emphatically NOT in this class:-
Galanthus Veronica Cross
Order Code: 22-292
Delivery as soon as the weather allows
£105.00 per pack

BUT
I have a VERY small side account in the Bank into which I slide the odd quid now and then; which must have enough to cover a purchase not "Part of life" (such as this)
They were on sale at £20 each.
"Ah! Funds can afford that much, buy two, they'll bulk up faster".
So - I did. They, obviously, are a quite generous firm, as follows:-
A bulb needs to be of flowering size to be sure they are dispatching the right one(s). By which time they have often started to divide.
In consequence the 2 bulbs I ordered turned up today in the form of SIX bulbs, two of which were in flower, the other four still clinging to Mummy's dresses for security. So  -  instead of £20 per bulb I got them for about  20÷6=£3 to the nearest whole quid; or £3.33 if you're a purist.
* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *
For the record (Mine)
Galanthus - trumps.
* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *
I suspect, though not explicit, G. Elwesii. Alice and I visited a "Stately Home" (Colesbourne Park) on one of our holidays in The Wagon. The gentleman who showed us around the garden and pointed out some (PROTECTED species) edible snails just happened to be called Elwes.
A descendent of:-
"The snowdrop collection at Colesbourne Park originated in the plantings made by Henry John Elwes (1846-1922). In 1874 he had discovered Galanthus elwesii while travelling in western Turkey and he became one of the prominent galanthophiles of his day."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.