DAY 3 AT RAGDALE HALL - ABSTRACT THURSDAY

Ragdale Hall has a lot of beautiful art and other treasures, which could be seen as abstract, so I thought it would be good to share them.

I went for an early morning swim in the exercise pool - but it was just a swim - I didn’t use any of the equipment but the reflections on the water in the pool looked quite abstract and colourful.

Below that is an abstract hanging that I rather liked, above the foot pool and to the left of the pool photograph is the back of one of the changing room stools - another good abstract - and rather an attractive bright green!

At the top left, the larger photograph is part of a screen in the salon where I had my manicure this morning and it caught my eye as I was leaving. With the light shining on it, I thought it looked beautiful.

At the bottom left, next to the array of exfoliants, oils and creams used for my manicure, is a piece of glass artwork - it is a delicate piece with a figure in the middle in red glass but sadly there is nothing near to say who made it or what it’s called. I spoke to a lady who works here but she didn’t know anything about it except she said “It cost quite a lot!” She suggested I put on my feedback form that it would be good to have a plaque nearby to give information about it, which I said I would do.

If you look closely, you can see a reflection of me taking the shot, dressed in my white robe, which is standard dress here at Ragdale Hall.

We met two lovely ladies on our first evening and bumped into them again today so we had lunch with them before they left. They come from Abingdon and Bicester - and as we got on so well and have the same quirky sense of humour, we hope to meet up sometime and perhaps have a pub lunch together.

The rain has cleared away and the sun is shining although it’s still very windy; I am sitting in the conservatory overlooking the garden and have spied some flowers so might be able to wander out there tomorrow before we leave.

“Art enables us
to find ourselves
and lose ourselves
at the same time.”

Thomas Merton

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.