LAST DAY AT RAGDALE HALL

Our last evening at Ragdale started with Pimms as it was Sue’s birthday - and I didn’t want this to go unrecognised!  We had a lovely meal together and the food and service were excellent, as usual.  I hadn’t told anyone, but our waitress had obviously heard us talking and appeared with “Happy Birthday, Sue” written in chocolate on her dessert plate. Then it was back to our room for more chats before we had an early night. 

We woke just before 7 am and once again had our breakfast in bed - such a pleasant way to start the day.  Sue then went off to an exercise class while I went out to take a few last photographs. 

To say it was “blowing a hoolie” would be an understatement but suffice to say I kept well away from the edge of the various ponds!  However, it was lovely to see the snowdrops and crocuses blooming and also to enjoy walking round the extensive grounds. 

Quite a lot of work is being undertaken at the front of the main house so seeing someone who looked like a gardener, and being interested in gardening, I asked about the work. I found out the man’s name was Andy and he said he had worked at Ragdale for 29 years and they were now re-planting the main walkway beds as they had been in situ for over 40 years.  I told him we were doing much the same in our garden but not on such a grand scale!

After a very nice lunch, our taxi arrived and we were soon on our way to the station at Melton Mowbray.  Because we were going to different parts of the country, we were departing from different platforms - Sue had a cosy waiting room but unfortunately the one on my side had closed an hour before I arrived, so I had to stand out in the cold until my train arrived. I asked Sue to stand by the Melton Mowbray sign on her side of the station and took the shot in the middle at the bottom for my friend, Gill, because she was teasing me about MM eating pork pies! 

I have just had a text from Sue to say she has arrived home and I am now back with Mr. HCB.  He says he missed me and I have some beautiful tulips and daffodils from him, which no doubt will be blipped in the next few days.  He has also cleaned through the house and it is all looking spick and span - perhaps I should go away more often!

When Sue and I were chatting at Ragdale before we left, we both agreed that although we hadn't seen each other for 3 years, it was almost as if we had never been apart - I guess long friendships often feel like that!  When we parted we both said that we mustn't leave it so long before we see each other again - and even if we don't meet at Ragdale, have said we will make an effort to meet more regularly.  

“We are friends for life. 
When we’re together 
     the years fall away. 
Isn’t that what matters? 
     To have someone who can remember with you? 
To have someone who remembers 
     how far you’ve come?”
Judy Blume

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.